clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lamar Jackson wins AFC Offensive Player of the month; third time winning the award

Jackson wins his third AFC Offensive Player of the Month

Miami Dolphins v Baltimore Ravens Photo by Michael Owens/Getty Images

For the third time in his career, Lamar Jackson has won AFC Offensive Player of the Month.

In the month of December (4 games), Jackson was on fire, throwing for 1,060 yards and 11 touchdowns and two interceptions on 64.2% completion, earning a 114.5 quarterback rating. Jackson also added 247 rushing yards on 36 attempts, good for 6.9 yards per carry. The Ravens went 4-0 in said stretch.

While the numbers are impressive, it was who he did so against that makes it all the more impressive. Jackson dismantled the No. 1 NFC seed San Francisco 49ers by throwing for 252 yards and two touchdowns, and adding another 45 rushing yards. He followed up such a performance by slicing up the No. 1 scoring defense since Week 8, the Miami Dolphins, by throwing for five touchdowns and 321 yards on an astounding 18-of-21 passing.

The last time Jackson won the award was September 2022, where in three games he produced 749 yards and 10 passing touchdowns on 63.4% completion, while dominating in the run game with 26 carries for 243 yards and two rushing touchdowns, and the Ravens going 2-1 in that time.

It was the most yards Jackson’s thrown in a month that he’s won the award, as the first time Jackson won the award, November 2019, Jackson in four games posted 777 passing yards and 13 touchdowns on 76% completion, while adding another 300 yards and 3 rushing touchdowns. The Ravens also went 4-0 in that time.

In franchise record terms, Jackson is the only Raven to earn three AFC Offensive Player of the Month awards. The only Raven to have earned one was running back Jamal Lewis, in December 2003.

Jackson is now in a three-way tie with safety Ed Reed and kicker Matt Stover for second-most AFC Player of the Month’s. The most earned by a Raven is Justin Tucker, with seven.

Comparing Jackson to other historical quarterbacks, he has some ground to make up in his young career.

AFC/NFC Offensive Player of the Month Awards (Quarterbacks)

  • Tom Brady — 10 AFC, 1 NFC
  • Aaron Rodgers — 10 NFC
  • Peyton Manning — 8 AFC
  • Steve Young — 6 NFC
  • Brett Favre — 6 NFC
  • Drew Brees — 5 NFC
  • Patrick Mahomes — 5 AFC
  • Donovan McNabb — 4 NFC
  • Phillip Rivers — 4 AFC
  • Tony Romo — 4 NFC
  • Vinny Testaverde — 3 AFC, 1 NFC
  • Lamar Jackson — 3 AFC
  • Matt Ryan — 3 NFC
  • Kirk Cousins — 3 NFC
  • Josh Allen — 2 AFC
  • Ben Roethlisberger — 1 AFC