clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mark Andrews receives the Ravens’ 2020 Ed Block Courage Award

Baltimore Ravens v Cincinnati Bengals Photo by Michael Hickey/Getty Images

Every year, all 32 NFL teams anoint a player(s) to receive the Ed Block Courage Award — an honor awarded to someone who displays courage and overcomes adversity. The award is voted on only by the players of each team.

For the Ravens, last year’s recipient was Brandon Carr. Since 2015, the four prior awardees in order were Dennis Pitta, Matt Elam, Benjamin Watson, and Marshal Yanda. Next in line now is Mark Andrews, who will be the Ravens’ 2020 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Andrews has already accomplished quite a bit in his three-year career thus far, earning a Pro Bowl selection in 2019, catching 20 touchdown passes, etc. However, the Ed Block Courage Award demonstrates the respect and admiration that his teammates have for him both on and off the field.

He’s certainly well-deserving of the honor. Andrews has continued to cope with Type 1 diabetes over the past several years but has not allowed to slow him down as a football player. He’s been a vocal advocate and role model for other victims of diabetes.

In 2020, Andrews chose to suit up for the Ravens despite being in the higher-risk category for COVID-19 because of his condition. Andrews was one of several players on the roster who contracted COVID in the middle of the season. He missed two games but returned without missing a beat.

Andrews finished the year with 58 receptions, over 700 receiving yards and seven touchdown catches.