clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John Harbaugh named 2019-20 NFL Coach of the Year

Harbaugh led the Ravens to the best record in the NFL

9th Annual NFL Honors - Arrivals Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images

Baltimore Ravens head coach John Harbaugh was awarded the 2019 NFL Coach of the Year by the Associated Press. Harbaugh was presented the honor at the annual NFL Honors award ceremony held in Miami.

Harbaugh became the first Ravens Coach to win the award after leading the Ravens to an NFL and franchise best 14-2 record in 2019. The Ravens went on the longest winning streak in in team history, reeling off twelve consecutive victories en route to becoming the AFC’s top seed.

Harbaugh has been celebrated by the football community for his commitment to an aggressive analytical approach to in game decision making. He opted to attempt over half as many fourth down conversions (24) as punts (40).

Offensively, Baltimore led the NFL in points, set the league record for rushing yards and was one of the most prolific offensive units in league history.

Defensively, the Ravens had one the of the most impressive in season turnarounds in recent memory. The defensive unit allowed over 1,000 yards and 70 points in their final two regular season losses, before making a slew of in season acquisitions, headlined by acquiring Marcus Peters. The Ravens defense finished in the top five in both points and yards allowed.

Harbaugh lead the AP vote with 27 votes, the next closest coach being Kyle Shanahan, who netted 14.

The honor is well deserved, especially considering where The Ravens were through nine games in 2018 (4-5). Since, the Ravens have gone 18-3. Harbaugh will look to build on this outstanding season in 2020 with a young roster and much continuity between personnel and staff.