clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Former Ravens safety Ed Reed selected for College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018

New, comment
Browns vs. Ravens Photo by Lloyd Fox/Baltimore Sun/MCT via Getty Images

Former Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018. As a member of the Miami Hurricanes (from 1998-2001), Reed had 21 interceptions, four of which were returned for a touchdown. While at Miami, Reed was a BCS national champion in 2001, was a Co-Big East Defensive Player of the Year in the same season and a two-time Consensus All-American in 2000 and 2001.

Reed continued his prolific career in the pros for the Ravens, where he totaled 61 interceptions and seven touchdowns in 11 seasons with Baltimore. Reed won a Super Bowl title in 2013 with Baltimore, was a nine-time Pro Bowl selection (2003, 2004, 2006–2012), a five-time First-team All-Pro (2004, 2006–2008, 2010) and a three-time Second-team All-Pro (2003, 2009, 2011). He is also a member of Baltimore’s Ring of Honor.

The 39-year old would continue to play for the Houston Texans and New York Jets in 2013. During that season, Reed grabbed three more interceptions with the Jets.

Reed will be joined by Matt Tjeerdsma, of Austin College and Northwest Missouri State, Michigan’s Charles Woodson, Trevor Cobb of Rice, Kerry Collins of Penn State, Dave Dickenson of Montana, Dana Howard of Illinois, Paul Palmer of Temple, Matt Stinchcomb of Georgia, Aaron Taylor of Nebraska, Mack Brown of Texas, Frank Beamer of Virginia Tech and Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech.