clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ravens expected to receive the 6th best compensatory pick in the 2018 draft

New, comments
Detroit Lions v Chicago Bears Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

The Baltimore Ravens are expected to receive an additional third round pick in the 2018 NFL Draft as compensation for losing offensive tackle Rick Wagner to the Lions in free agency. Over the Cap is projecting the compensatory pick for Wagner to be the sixth highest awarded, due to his contract that averages $9.5 million per season and his 75.9% snap percentage in 2017.

The five former free agents deemed worthy of better compensation are All-Pro Calais Campbell, All-Pro A.J. Bouye, Kevin Zeitler, Russell Okung and T.J. Lang. The Cardinals are expected to receive an additional fourth round selection for the loss of Ravens safety Tony Jefferson. Despite signing Jefferson, Brandon Carr and Danny Woodhead, the Ravens should be able to retain their extra third round pick because they lost five qualifying unrestricted free agents - Wagner, Kyle Juszczyk, Lawrence Guy, Kamar Aiken and Vladimir Ducasse.

Baltimore’s front office are the masters of maximizing the compensatory formula. Their total of 47 comp picks since the system was implemented in 1994 is 20-percent more than the team with the second most. The Ravens are likely to continue this trend next year, as Ryan Jensen, Mike Wallace and James Hurst are impending unrestricted free agents. Notable Ravens drafted with compensatory picks include Wagner, Juszczyk, Pernell McPhee, Sam Koch, Le”Ron McClain and Edwin Mulitalo.

If OTC’s projections are correct, the Ravens will be awarded the 102nd overall selection. Compensatory picks became a tradable asset in 2017, which the Ravens took advantage of by trading the 99th selection they received from the departure of Kelechi Osemele, along with Timmy Jernigan, to move up and take Chris Wormley 74th overall last April. Players chosen with the 102nd pick over the last five drafts were Nazair Jones, Joshua Perry, Daryl Williams, Bashaud Breeland and Josh Boyce.