clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class announced

The committee has spoken, and it's inducting one of the strongest classes I've seen in a while.

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

The Hall of Fame Board of Selectors has spoken, and they've decided to induct a full eight-member class into the pinnacle of football in America, the Hall of Fame.

The class was revealed to the public on Saturday night's NFL Honors, the league's end-of-season awards show. The only first-year candidate to receive over 80 percent of the committee's vote was Brett Favre, the legendary quarterback who was considered a lock prior to voting.

Joining Favre from the modern-era will be receiver Marvin Harrison, linebacker Kevin Greene, tackle Orlando Pace, and coach Tony Dungy.

From the senior committee, two players made the final cut. Tackle Dick Stanfel and quarterback Ken Stabler will both be enshrined in Canton. Owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr. also was selected from the contributor category.

Notably excluded were first-time candidates Kurt Warner and Terrell Owens, who didn't receive enough votes from the committee.

You can watch the Class of 2016 be inducted in Canton, Ohio on August 6th.