clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NFL Hall of Fame class to be chosen Saturday

The NFL's premier committee is meeting before the big game to chose 2016's class.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

When the Hall of Fame Selection Committee meets this Saturday in San Francisco to pick out the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class, they will certainly have their work cut out for them.

The committee has to pick between 21 players, coaches, and owners. This elite shortlist has been whittled down from 108 nominees named earlier last year. Prominently featured are the three first-year nominees; Alan Faneca, Brett Favre, and Terrell Owens.

To be named to the Hall, a candidate must receive a minimum of a 80 percent "positive" vote from the 46-man selection committee. The rules stipulate that between four and eight candidates can be enshrined, and that no more than five "modern-era" finalists can be inducted at a time. Players are elected based on stats, legacy, off-the-field behavior, and of course, their standing with committee members.

Here are the candidates for the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class.

Modern-Era Nominees

Senior Finalists (greater than 25 years retired from the league)

Contributor Finalist (non-player/coach)

After the lengthy discussion draws to an end and the class is finalized, the results will be announced to the world on the eve of the Super Bowl. The committee will reveal their results on "NFL Honors", the league's end-of-season award show televised on CBS. The Class of 2016 will also be introduced for the first time that night. The enshrinement ceremony will occur on August 6th.