clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Ravens Lead Pro Bowl Position Voting


Five members of the Baltimore Ravens are leading their positions in voting for the 2012 Pro Bowl, to be played in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, January 29, 2012. The Pro Bowl is played the week before the Super Bowl and it is unfortunate as the Ravens will be playing in the Big Game so their players will be unable to participate in the NFL's All-Star game due to their commitment to getting ready for the Super Bowl.

The "usual suspects" for the Ravens leading their positions include Ray Lewis (ILB), Ed Reed (FS) and Haloti Ngata (DT). Joining them is Brendan Ayanbadejo (ST) and the Ravens lone representative on the offensive side of the ball, Michael Oher (T).

(Click on the 'Jump' to read the full story)


Green Bay Packers quarterback AARON RODGERS, with 589,801 votes, leads all NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2012 Pro Bowl, announced today.  2012 Pro Bowl voting will continue online and on web-enabled mobile phones by going through Monday, December 19. 


New England Patriots quarterback TOM BRADY (537,780 votes) leads all AFC players and ranks second overall, while Detroit Lions wide receiver CALVIN JOHNSON(487,547 votes), Minnesota Vikings running back ADRIAN PETERSON (469,117 votes) and New England Patriots wide receiver WES WELKER (430,945 votes) round out the top five on


Balloting will conclude on Monday, December 19 following the conclusion of Monday Night Football (Pittsburgh Steelers at San Francisco 49ers, ESPN, 8:30 pm (ET).  The teams will be announced at 7:00 pm (ET) Tuesday, December 27 on a special NFL Total Access 2012 Pro Bowl Selection Show on NFL Network.


The 2012 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 29, 2012 and televised live on NBC at 7:00 pm (ET) from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.


Fans may purchase tickets starting later this month at

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on December 21-22. 

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.