clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jarret Johnson Is 3rd Ravens LB Named Defensive Player Of the Week In 2011

New, comments

Baltimore Ravens linebacker Jarret Johnson was named AFC Defensive Player of the Week for last Sunday night's performance, which included a 26 yard fumble return for a touchdown in the Ravens 34-17 victory over the New York Jets. Johnson is the third player on the Ravens to win the award in the four weeks of the 2011 NFL season. He joins fellow linebackers Terrell Suggs (week one) and Ray Lewis (week 3) as the three have dominated the category so far this year. In a story posted on, they talk about his lack of celebration, calm demeanor and "Iron-Man" status, having started 117 consecutive games.

One local sportscaster went as far to say that it should be renamed the Baltimore Ravens Defensive Player of the Week Award based on the selfishness that this dominating defense has shown, allowing a league low 14 points a game overall and if you want to only count the actual points this defense gave up as opposed to interception and kickoff returns, it drops down to a stingy 11 points per game.

(Click on the 'Jump' to read the NFL's Press Release on JJ as the AFC DPoW for week 4)



·         Johnson registered a 26-yard fumble-return touchdown, along with three tackles and one pass defensed in the Ravens’ 34-17 win over the New York Jets.

·         Baltimore became the first team since the Vikings in 2007 to record three return touchdowns (two FR-TDs; one INT-TD) on defense.

  • Helped limit the Jets to 150 yards of total offense and was part of a defensive unit that recorded four takeaways (three fumble recoveries, one interception).
  • Through Week 4, Baltimore’s defense has an NFL-best 14 takeaways.
  • Has played in 117 consecutive games, the longest streak in team history.

·         In his ninth season from Alabama, this is Johnson’s first career Defensive Player of the Week Award. He joins TERRELL SUGGS (Week 1) and RAY LEWIS (Week 3) as the third Baltimore player to win the award this season.