Super Bowl Records Set

Compiled By Elias Sports Bureau


Oldest Winning Head Coach – 65, Tom Coughlin

Most Consecutive Completions – 16, Tom Brady

Most Consecutive Completions To Start Game – 9, Eli Manning

Most Passing Yards, Career – 1,277, Tom Brady

Most Passes, Career – 197, Tom Brady

Most Completions, Career – 127, Tom Brady

Most Punts Inside 10, Game – 3, Steve Weatherford

Most First Downs Passing, Game, Both Teams – 33 (N.Y.Giants 18, New England 15)


Most Games Started – 5, Tom Brady; Matt Light

Longest Touchdown Drive, Team – 96 yards, New England

Fewest Turnovers, Game, Team – 0, N.Y.Giants

Most Safeties, Game, Team – 1, N.Y.Giants

Fewest Touchdowns Rushing, Game, Team – 0, New England

Fewest Passes Had Intercepted, Game, Team – 0, N.Y.Giants

Fewest First Downs By Penalty, Game, Team – 0, New England

Fewest Punt Returns, Game, Team – 0, New England

Fewest Fumbles, Game, Team – 0, New England

Fewest Fumbles Lost, Game, Both Teams – 0 (N.Y.Giants 0, New England 0)

(See additional information on Super Bowl 46, including Eli Manning's MVP Award announcement)


Compiled By Elias Sports Bureau

Eli Manning is the fifth player to win the Super Bowl MVP Award at least twice. Joe Montana won it three times; Bart Starr, Terry Bradshaw and Tom Brady won it twice.

Ahmad Bradshaw is the fourth player to score the game-winning touchdown in the last minute of a Super Bowl, joining John Taylor (Super Bowl XXIII), Plaxico Burress (Super Bowl XLII) and Santonio Holmes (Super Bowl XLIII).

The Giants won the Super Bowl for the fourth time, tying Green Bay for the fourth-highest total of Super Bowl wins. Pittsburgh has won six; San Francisco and Dallas have won five. The Giants have now won the NFL Championship eight times; only Green Bay (13) and Chicago (9) have won as many.

In each of the Giants’ four Super Bowl victories, they had trailed at halftime (10-9 to Denver in Super Bowl XXI, 12-10 to Buffalo in Super Bowl XXV, 7-3 to New England in Super Bowl XLII, and 10-9 to New England in Super Bowl XLVI).


New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning was voted the winner of the Pete Rozelle Trophy, awarded to the Super Bowl XLVI Most Valuable Player.

The award is chosen by a panel comprised of 16 members of the Pro Football Writers Association of America, selected members of the electronic broadcast media and interactively through the National Football League’s official website, Manning collected 18.5 votes of the possible 20 cast in the MVP voting process.

Manning hit nine different receiving targets and completed 30 of 40 passes for 296 yards and one touchdown for a passer rating of 103.8. Manning rallied the Giants from a 17-9 third-quarter deficit while leading scoring drives on three of the team’s four second-half possessions.

Manning, in his eighth season, orchestrated an 88-yard touchdown drive that began at the Giants’ 12 yard-line with 3:53 left in the game. On the first play of the drive, he connected with wide receiver Mario Manningham on a 38-yard completion along the Patriots’ sideline. The pass completion was the longest by either quarterback in Super Bowl XLVI. Manning completed five of six passes for 74 yards on the drive, which ended when running back Ahmad Bradshaw scored on a six-yard touchdown run with :57 remaining that put the Giants ahead 21-17 (two-point conversion failed).

Manning began Super Bowl XLVI by completing his first nine passes for 76 yards and a two-yard touchdown pass to wide receiver Victor Cruz that gave the Giants a 9-0 lead. The nine straight completions set a Super Bowl record for consecutive completions to begin a Super Bowl. In the first half of play, Manning completed 13 of 17 passes for 120 yards and a touchdown.

Manning is the first New York Giants player to win the Rozelle Trophy multiple times, having also been voted the MVP of Super Bowl XLII. Previous Giants Super Bowl MVPs include quarterback Phil Simms (Super Bowl XXI), running back Ottis Anderson (Super Bowl XXV) and Manning (Super Bowl XLII). He is the fifth player in NFL history to win multiple Super Bowl MVP honors (Joe Montana, three; Tom Brady, Terry Bradshaw and Bart Starr, two).

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Baltimore Beat Down

You must be a member of Baltimore Beat Down to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Baltimore Beat Down. You should read them.

Join Baltimore Beat Down

You must be a member of Baltimore Beat Down to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Baltimore Beat Down. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.